DuPage Medical Society Foundation announces scholarship and grant awards

  • Luis Rubio, West Chicago, 2021 William B. Frymark Sr., MD, Honorary Scholarship

    Luis Rubio, West Chicago, 2021 William B. Frymark Sr., MD, Honorary Scholarship

Updated 9/7/2021 7:31 PM

The DuPage Medical Society Foundation Board of Trustees announces the awarding of eleven 2021 student scholarships.

Jeonghyun Esther Kwon, Wheaton, is the 2021 recipient of the prestigious James P. Campbell, MD, Memorial Scholarship. Jeonghyun is in her first year at University of Illinois College of Medicine - Chicago and has an unusual story compared to other scholarship applicants. Medicine is a career change for her. She was working toward a PhD in education when her father was diagnosed with cancer in 2013. After helping her father through his cancer journey, she started her own journey into the field of medicine.


She is a compassionate, thoughtful, and ambitious person. Along with an interest in teaching in medical school, she laid out two goals for her career aspirations, interdisciplinary collaboration and global medicine.

Jeonghyun wrote "Experiencing UIC's medical education first-hand as a student and engaging in conversations with scholars at the Department of Medical Education will equip me to take part in a transformative, holistic learning for the next generation. With UIC education that underscores interdisciplinary education, I aspire to contribute to medical education through curriculum development that facilitates the human flourishing of medical students.

The James P. Campbell, MD, Memorial Scholarship was established in 1998 to honor the memory of a distinguished DuPage County physician who for 60 years was also a great advocate for organized medicine. He served the DuPage County Medical Society and other branches of organized medicine in many ways, but most significantly as the society's secretary treasurer for 29 years. Recipients of the James P. Campbell, MD, Memorial Scholarship must exhibit an outstanding academic background and extraordinary potential for a future in medicine.

Luis Rubio, West Chicago, is awarded the 2021 William B. Frymark Sr., MD, Honorary Scholarship. Luis is a fourth-year medical student at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine. He plans to go into otolaryngology (head and neck surgery) and is the president of the Otolaryngology Interest Group at SIU. But what set him apart from our other applicants was his desire to become a specialist for the underserved.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

Luis wrote "My eventual goal is to serve a patient population similar to the one I grew up in. I hope to bring a different perspective to the field of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery. I want to become a specialist for the patients who are underserved."

He is already living this out with his impressive volunteer record including mentoring high school students interested in the field of medicine.

The William B. Frymark, MD, Honorary Scholarship is a tribute to one of the Foundation's founders who, in the ensuing half century, has remained a dedicated supporter and steward of the organization. Doctor Frymark served many terms as a trustee and president of the foundation's board. He also held many leadership positions with the DuPage County Medical Society. Recipients of the William B. Frymark, MD, Honorary Scholarship demonstrate superior academic ability, a commitment to service, and great potential as a healthcare service provider.

Other 2021 scholarship recipients are as follows:

• Muneeb Ansari, Glendale Heights, Medicine

• Darby Billing, Wheaton, Medicine

• Mary Grace Kenny, Glen Ellyn, Medicine

• Sameeksha Malhotra, Naperville, Medicine

• Tyler Miksanek, Warrenville, Medicine

• Olivia Negris, Wheaton, Medicine

• Anisha Patel, Carol Stream, Medicine


• Abhishek Sethi, Naperville, Medicine

"Once again, we had an outstanding group of student applicants," said foundation president Dr. Lanny F. Wilson, MD. "Out of respect and appreciation for our generous donors, the Foundation takes seriously the evaluation of each candidate based upon

needs and merits. In so doing, we hope to steward our philanthropic resources wisely as we support future health professionals and the future of health care in America."

Each year the DuPage Medical Society Foundation awards 100 percent of the funds received from contributors. Including this year's grants, the Foundation has awarded over $417,000 in student scholarships.

Go to comments: 0 posted
Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.