Call for nominations for Earl and Hazel Engel Award of Excellence

Updated 6/18/2018 8:56 PM

There is still time to get in your nomination for the Earl and Hazel Engel Award of Excellence.

The award was developed to encourage and recognize the outstanding contributions rendered by a community volunteer or employee on behalf of the township of Hampshire.


An eligible nominee must demonstrate the following qualities:

• Exemplary performance in meeting the roles and responsibility of the position;

• Demonstration of an outstanding commitment to the general welfare of the people of Hampshire in actions and kind understanding;

• Creative leadership or commitment to effectively solve unique challenges.

The deadline for nominations is Wednesday, July 4.

You can email your nomination to Or mail it to Bonnie Engel, P.O. Box 8, Seville, FL 32190.

Earl Engel and his wife, Hazel (Andersen) Engel both grew up on farms in the Hampshire-Burlington area. They were local business owners in the Hampshire community from 1957-1975. During that time, Earl owned Engel Ford Sales on State Street. Hazel owned and operated the Mid-Town Beauty Shop and she frequently volunteered in church and other community projects.

Earl had developed the farm acreage which became Panama Avenue. During the mid-1940s, including part of World War II, and the early 1950s, he and Hazel had worked as civilians in the Panama Canal Zone.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

On returning home to the Hampshire-Burlington area, Earl encouraged the creation of the Burlington Lions Club and became the charter president in 1960. He subsequently assisted in developing the Hampshire Chamber of Commerce and became its charter president. He later served on the village board and initiated the Hampshire Police Department. With other local businessmen, Hampshire's "Old Fashioned Days" was started in the 1960s, and this annual event later became Coon Creek Country Days.

In memory of her parents, Bonnie Engel, now a resident of Florida, sponsors this annual award in which is presented at Hampshire Coon Creek Country Days.

Prior recipients are:

• 2000: William and Dorothy Schmidt;

• 2001: Wendy Harries;

• 2002: Bob Wilcox;

• 2003: Darwin Conro;

• 2004: Mike and Rose Bihun;

• 2005: Pearl Herrmann;

• 2006: Genevieve and Maynard Petersen;

• 2007: Jeanne Holzkamp;

• 2008: Judy Luecht;

• 2009: Richard Stading;


• 2010: Roger and Dorothy Paddock;

• 2011: Bill Conro;

• 2012: Chuck and Tammy Rath;

• 2013: Whitey and Arlene Reiser;

• 2014: Roy Maki;

• 2015: Fred Rackow;

• 2016: Marie and Ray Maynard Jr.

• 2016: John Gehringer

The award presentation will be held at 7 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 4, during Coon Creek Country Days in Hampshire.

Go to comments: 0 posted
Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.