Departing Kane County Board member to run for Campton Hills mayor

  • Departing Kane County Board member Barb Wojnicki filed Monday to run for village president in Campton Hills.

    Departing Kane County Board member Barb Wojnicki filed Monday to run for village president in Campton Hills.

  • Michael Tyrrell

    Michael Tyrrell

Updated 11/29/2022 12:05 AM

Monday was the last day for candidates to file nominating papers for the upcoming municipal elections in Aurora, Elgin, Campton Hills, Elburn and North Aurora.

One of those candidates is Kane County Board member Barb Wojnicki, who is looking to become village president of Campton Hills. Her county board term ends this week.


Here is what else is happening.


Alderman-at-large Sherman Jenkins filed for reelection. He will face John Laesch and Mansa Latham Williams.

Ward 1 Alderman Emmanuel S. Llamas is unopposed in his bid for reelection.

Olynda M. De Hoyos filed for the Ward 3 seat, as did incumbent Ted Mesiacos.

David Cannon is running against Ward 5 incumbent Carl Franco.

Ward 6 could end up having a primary, provided nobody is kicked off the ballot in a petition challenge. Incumbent Michael Saville is being challenged by Matthew Orr, Matt Harrington, Nicole Mullins and Benjamin Marcum.

Petition challenges have to be filed with the city clerk by 5 p.m. Dec. 5.

And in Ward 8, Alderman Patty Smith will face Gautam Bhatia.


Council incumbents Rose Martinez, Tish Powell and John Steffen filed for reelection. Joining the race are Anthony Ortiz, Diana Alfaro, Karin Jones, Christina "Tia" Aagesen, Ismael Cordova, Marcus E. Banner and Mark W. Smith.

Incumbent Toby Shaw is not running.

There is no need for a primary.

Campton Hills

In Campton Hills, Wojnicki will challenge Village President Mike Tyrrell.

Nine people are running for three seats on the village board: incumbents Wendy White Eagle, Susan George and Charles Cappell and challengers Nick Boatner, Janet Burson, Rob Klinkey, Tim Morgan, Michael Warick and Geri Wilson.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

The number of filers must be at least four times the number of seats available plus one to trigger a primary.


In Elburn, where three trustee positions are available in the spring election, Chris Hansen filed his candidate petitions Monday. Because only one person filed, there is no need for a February primary.

Elburn also is accepting petitions Dec. 12-19.

The seats held by William Grabarek, Sue Filek and Chris Mondi are up for election.

North Aurora

In North Aurora, three people filed for three village board seats.

Incumbents Mark Guethle and Laura Curtis are running again. The other filer is Jason Christiansen.

Trustee Mark Carroll is not seeking reelection.

Because only three people are running, there is no need for a primary.

Monday afternoon was the deadline for people to file petitions to participate in a Feb. 23 primary election for cities and villages that can have primaries. For other cities and villages, petitions will be filed Dec. 12-19.

Go to comments: 0 posted

Get articles sent to your inbox.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.