Suburban, Chicagobar associations rate Cook County judicial candidates

Updated 10/7/2022 5:29 PM

The Suburban Bar Coalition and the Chicago Bar Association have released recommendations for Cook County judges running for retention in the Nov. election.

The Suburban Bar Coalition gave highly recommended ratings to Illinois Supreme Court Justice Mary Jane Theis and First District Appellate Court judges James Fitzgerald Smith, Terrance J. Lavin, Maureen E. Connors, Mathias William Delort, Nathaniel Roosevelt Howse Jr. and Jesse G. Reyes.


The CBA recommended a "yes" vote on those candidates as well.

Established in 1987, the Suburban Bar Coalition is composed of Northwest suburban, North suburban, South suburban, Southwest and West suburban bar associations for the purpose of evaluating judges on behalf of suburban Cook County residents. The coalition bases its retention evaluations on the judge's legal ability, temperament, impartiality and integrity.

The coalition gave "highly recommended" or "recommended" ratings to all of the Cook County judges running for retention. See for the complete list.

The CBA recommended voters select "no" on Daniel James Pierce and Ann Finley Collins. Both indicated they are not seeking reelection, according to the CBA, but their names remain on the ballot.

To be retained, a sitting judge must receive a 60% "yes" vote. Candidates for retention are not running against any other judge

For the appellate court, the CBA found Debra B. Walker and Raymond W. Mitchell highly qualified. For candidates seeking election to the Cook County circuit court bench, the CBA found Rena Marie Van Tine highly qualified. It found Lisa Michelle Taylor, Tracie Porter, Diana Lopez, Thomas E. Nowinski, Elizabeth "Beth" Ryan, Michael Weaver, Ruth Isabel Gudino, Araceli R. De La Cruz and Thomas More Donnelly qualified.

In Cook County's 11th subcircuit, which covers parts of Elk Grove, Maine, Norwood Park, Leyden, Proviso and Oak Park townships along with some Chicago neighborhoods, the CBA found Aileen Bhandari qualified.

In the 13th subcircuit, which includes parts of Schaumburg, Palatine, Barrington and Hanover townships, the CBA found Joe Gump and Gary William Seyring qualified.

Go to comments: 0 posted
Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.