Several tight races still too close to call in DuPage County

Updated 4/14/2021 4:43 PM

More than a week after the April 6 consolidated election, several tight municipal and school board races in DuPage County are coming down to the wire.

The outcomes of various contests deemed too close to call on election night remain unclear as election authorities continue tabulating late-arriving mail-in and provisional ballots. In Roselle Elementary District 12, an incumbent and a newcomer are tied for the fourth spot on the school board, while a thin margin still separates the two candidates battling for the last open seat on the College of DuPage board as of Wednesday.


Results are not considered final until April 20, when all outstanding votes are counted. Cook and Will counties updated their unofficial tallies Wednesday, while DuPage County's election results website was last updated Friday.

Here's a look at where the close races stand.


Nick Cuzzone has maintained a narrow lead over Bob Wagner in the race to replace Villa Park Village President Al Bulthuis, who did not seek reelection. With 2,851 total ballots cast, a 77-vote margin separates the two sitting trustees, according to preliminary results.

In Lisle, top vote-getter Mary Jo Mullen appears to be the only candidate with a clear victory on the village board.

Of the other six candidates, Thomas Duffy, Dan Grecco and William Trussell are in a close battle for the remaining two trustee seats, unofficial tallies show. Duffy is in the lead with 1,346 votes -- 30 ahead of Grecco and 68 in front of Trussell.

The outcome of the Downers Grove village council race is becoming clearer, with incumbent Greg Hose and newcomers Chris Gilmartin and Danny Glover appearing to win seats over three other opponents.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

College of DuPage

Incumbent Heidi Holan and newcomer Florence Appel solidified their places on the College of DuPage board as the top two vote-getters of all eight candidates.

But who will take the third and final open seat remains too close to call, with the most recent vote counts showing Nick Howard hanging onto his razor-thin lead. Of a total 235,049 votes cast in DuPage, Will and Cook counties, a mere 87 separate Howard from opponent Don Potoczny, unofficial results show.

School board

In a five-way race for Roselle Elementary District 12 school board, two candidates are in a dead heat for the fourth seat.

Incumbent Christopher Humbert and David Franzen, the race's sole newcomer, have each received 665 votes so far, unofficial results show. They only trail 50 votes behind Steven Zurek, who is in third place behind Kimberly Duris and James McGowen, according to preliminary results.

In Addison Elementary District 4, Jeremiah Lange is expected to retain his seat on the school board, as the incumbent cruised to victory alongside challengers Christen Bollig and Taso Triantafillos.


Clinging onto the fourth-place spot with a 13-vote lead is sitting board member Zack Frangidakis, who is at risk of being unseated by Daniel Medina.

Mary Yeboah and incumbent Brad Paulsen appear to be the top two vote-getters among 10 candidates vying for four Wheaton Warrenville District 200 school board seats.

Board member Rob Hanlon and newcomer Angela Blatner are in third and fourth place, respectively, followed by Tom Paulsen, with 93 votes separating each candidate, according to unofficial tallies.

In Lisle Unit District 202, newcomer Gregory Nagler is ahead of incumbent Randee Sims by 20 votes for the fourth open seat. The other three candidates -- Pam Ahlmann, Eunice McConville and Steven Lesniak -- appear to have secured their spots on the school board.

Fifty votes separate the two incumbents vying for the final seat on the Glen Ellyn Elementary District 89, with James Lerch ahead with 1,219 votes, unofficial results show. Steven Neurauter, Haydee Nunez and Donna Kemp were elected to the other three positions.

The Fenton High School District 100 contest also is up in the air, with candidates Sylvia Hayde, Joseph Minard and Thalia Anguiano in a close battle for the last open board seat. Hayde is ahead with 804 votes, followed by Minard with 796 -- one ahead of Anguiano.

The other three board seats are expected to be held by Patty Jalowiec, John Radzinski and Paul Wedemann.

In Marquardt Elementary District 15, Rebecca Giannelli, Jean Randazzo and Karen Camporese lead the six-way race. Marcia Reiken appears to be in the lead for the fourth spot, though incumbent Luz Luna only trails by 20.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.