Candidates file for McHenry County school board seats

Updated 12/18/2018 5:32 PM

McHenry County has a mix of contested and uncontested school board races this spring.

Crystal Lake High School District 155 has six candidates running for three 4-year terms on the board. Incumbents Amy Blazier and board President Adam Guss are joined by newcomers Tom Vaclavek, Meghan Tillson, Jacob Justen and Scott Coffey on the ballot. Board member Rosemary Kurtz is not seeking re-election.


Five candidates are vying for four 4-year terms on the Huntley Community School District 158 school board. They are incumbents William Geheren of Huntley, Ra'Shawn Walker of Lake in the Hills and Kevin Gentry of Huntley and newcomers Timothy Griskey of Algonquin and Melissa Maiorino of Huntley.

Incumbent Anthony Quagliano of Algonquin is seeking a 2-year term to fill the seat left open by the resignation of school board President Don Drzal in May.

McHenry District 156 incumbents Dawn Bremer and Timothy Byers and newcomer Nicole Morrow are seeking three 4-year terms. Incumbent Steve Bellmore is not seeking re-election.

Crystal Lake Elementary District 47 has three incumbents -- Curt Wadlington, Robert Fetzner and Ryan Farrell -- vying for three 4-year terms.

In Fox River Grove District 3, incumbents Gerry Blohm and Thomas Mollet are joined by Melissa Brennan on the ballot seeking three 4-year terms. Board President Devin Bright is not seeking re-election. Appointed in 2009 to fill an unexpired term, Bright was later elected in 2011 and 2015.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.