Opening day filers for state, Cook County races

Updated 10/27/2009 12:15 AM

Here are the congressional and legislative candidates from the Northwest suburbs who filed on opening day for the Feb. 2 primary election. The filing deadline is Nov. 2, so this is not the final list of candidates.

Statewide offices


U.S. Senate


Treasurer Alexander "Alexi" Giannoulias of Chicago

David Hoffman of Chicago

Robert Marshall of Burr Ridge

Jacob Meister of Chicago


John Arrington of Harvey

U.S. Rep. Mark Kirk of Highland Park

Donald (Don) Lowery of Golconda

Andy Martin of Chicago

Kathleen Thomas of Springfield



Comptroller Daniel W. Hynes of Chicago

Pat Quinn of Chicago

William "Dock" Walls, III of Chicago


Adam Andrzejewski of Hinsdale

State Sen. Bill Brady of Bloomington

State Sen. Kirk W. Dillard of Hinsdale

DuPage County Board Chairman Robert J. Schillerstrom of Naperville

Lieutenant Governor


State Sen. Rickey R. Hendon of Chicago

State Sen. Terry Link of Waukegan

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

State Rep. Arthur L. Turner of Chicago


Carbondale Mayor Brad Cole

Jason Plummer of Edwardsville

Don Tracy of Springfield

Randy A. White, Sr. of Hamilton

Attorney General


Lisa Madigan of Chicago

Secretary of State


Jesse White of Chicago



Justin P. Oberman of Chicago



S. Raja Krishnamoorthi

State Rep. David E. Miller of Lynwood


Jim Dodge of Orland Park

Judy Baar Topinka of Riverside


District 6 Republican *Peter Roskam, Wheaton

District 8 Democrat *Melissa Bean, Barrington

Republican Dirk W. Beveridge, Barrington John Dawson, Barrington Christopher Geissler, Barrington Maria Rodriguez, Long Grove


District 9 Democrat *Janice D. Schakowsky, Evanston

District 10 Democrat State Rep. Julie Hamos, Wilmette Daniel J. Seals, Wilmette

Republican William J. Cadigan, Winnetka State Rep. Elizabeth Coulson, Glenview Robert Dold, Kenilworth Dick Green, Winnetka Paul Hamann, Lake Forest

District 14 Republican Jeff Danklefsen, Geneva Ethan A. Hastert, Elburn Randall M. "Randy" Hultgren, Winfield Mark Vargas, Elgin

>District 16 Republican *Donald A. Manzullo, Leaf River

State Senate

22nd District Democrat *Michael Noland, Elgin

28th District Republican *John Millner, Carol Stream

State representatives

43rd District Democrat *Keith Farnham, Elgin

Republican Ruth Munson, Elgin

44th District Democrat *Fred Crespo, Hoffman Estates

51st District Republican *Ed Sullivan Jr., Mundelein

52nd District Republican *Mark Beaubien Jr., Barrington Hills

53rd District Democrat Linda Birnbaum, Wheeling

Republican *Sidney H. Mathias, Buffalo Grove

54th District Republican *Suzanne "Suzie" Bassi, Palatine

55th District Democrat Gregory C. Brownfield, Bartlett

Republican *Randy Ramey, Carol Stream

56th District Democrat Michelle Mussman, Schaumburg

Republican Ryan Higgins, Schaumburg

57th District Democrat *Elaine Nekritz, Northbrook

59th District Democrat *Carol Sente, Vernon Hills

Republican Dan Sugrue, Green Oaks

64th District Republican *Michael W. Tryon, Crystal Lake

65th District Republican *Rosemary E. Mulligan, Des Plaines

66th District Democrat *Mark Walker, Arlington Hts.

77th District Republican *Angelo "Skip" Saviano, Elmwood Park

Cook County

President, Board of Commissioners

Toni Preckwinkle, Chicago, Democrat

Terrence O'Brien, Chicago, Democrat

Danny Davis, Chicago, Democrat

Dorothy Brown, Chicago, Democrat

John Garrido, Chicago, Republican

Roger Keats, Wilmette, Republican

Board of Commissioners

9th District

Peter Silvestri, Elmwood Park, Republican

Carey Capparelli, Chicago, Democrat

Brock Merck, Chicago, Green

12th District

John Fritchey, Chicago, Democrat

13th District

John Michael Keefe, Skokie, Democrat

Larry Suffredin, Evanston, Democrat

14th District

Gregg Goslin, Glenview, Republican

Jennifer Bishop Jenkins, Northfield, Democrat

Patrick O'Donoghue, Northfield, Republican

Kurt "Ike" Eichaker, Barrington, Republican

15th District

Timothy Schneider, Bartlett, Republican

17th District

Victor Forys, Park Ridge, Democrat

Patrick Maher, Orland Park, Democrat

Liz Gorman, Orland Park, Republican


Joseph Berrios, Chicago, Democrat

Robert Shaw, South Holland, Democrat

Sharon Strobeck-Eckersall, Evanston, Republican


David Orr, Chicago, Democrat


Thomas Dart, Chicago, Democrat

Frederick Collins, Chicago, Republican


Maria Pappas, Chicago, Democrat

Board of Review

1st District

Dan Patlak, Wheeling, Republican

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District

Barbara McGowan, Chicago, Democrat

Michael Alvarez, Chicago, Democrat

Mariyana Spyropoulos, Chicago, Democrat

Todd Connor, Chicago, Democrat

Stella Black, Chicago, Democrat

Wallace Davis III, Chicago, Democrat

Teddy Aguilar, Crestwood, Democrat

Maureen Kelly, Chicago, Democrat

Mary Ann Paolantonio Salemi, Melrose Park, Democrat

Kathleen Mary O'Reilley, River Forest, Democrat

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.