Illinois State Genealogical Society Presents Volkel Hall of Fame Award, Other Honors & Awards

Posted11/23/2021 9:37 AM

The Illinois State Genealogical Society (ISGS) announced their annual Honors and Awards. ISGS President Candace Marx opened the Society's virtual Annual Fall Conference on Sunday, 17 October 2021. Awards were presented by Honors & Awards Chair Jaymie Middendorf and ISGS President Marx.

Volkel Hall of Fame:


Elmer Dickson, nominated by Fox Valley Genealogical Society, was inducted into the Volkel Hall of Fame.

This prestigious award is named for Lowell M. Volkel. Volkel was instrumental in establishing and promoting an interest in genealogy in the State of Illinois. He was a founder of the Illinois State Genealogical Society (founded 26 Oct 1968) and its first President, 1968-1970; he served again as President, 1984-1985. In 1970 he became an Archivist in the Illinois State Archives and was the Head of the Reference Unit there from 1974 until his death in 1992.

In honor of his accomplishments in the field of genealogy and records preservation, the ISGS established the Volkel Memorial Awards. The Volkel Medal of Honor is awarded in even-numbered years to a living person who has made significant contributions in the field of Illinois genealogy. The Volkel Hall of Fame is given in odd-numbered years to honor a deceased person who has made significant contributions in the field of Illinois genealogy.

This year the Illinois State Genealogical Society inducted Elmer Dickson into the Volkel Hall of Fame. Dickson's contributions include compiling over 50 history and genealogy books, devoting years of his life to researching the history and genealogy of families in Kendall County (IL), and creating the Kendall County IL GenWeb website.

Honors and Awards:

The ISGS presented several additional awards. Gloria Dettleff of Florissant, MO and Roger Matile of Oswego, IL were honored with the Community Service Award. The Special Recognition Award was received by Anita Boyd of Winfield, IL, Laura Kovarik of Naperville, IL, and Michael Andrews of Arlington Heights, IL. Four students, Ashlyn Gadson, Isobel Lebeau, Chase Michaels, and Jacquelyn Vierneisel from Prospect High School, IL received the Youth Award. Dea Guerri of Terre Haute, IN, Merydith Brostoff of Streamwood, IL, and Jacquie Schattner of Palatine, IL were honored with the Volunteer Award.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.