ECC Writers Center Reading Series to feature Adrian Matejka Nov. 12

  • Adrian Matejka, author of Matejka is the author of "The Devil's Garden" and "Mixology," will speak at ECC Writers Center Reading Series on Nov. 12.

    Adrian Matejka, author of Matejka is the author of "The Devil's Garden" and "Mixology," will speak at ECC Writers Center Reading Series on Nov. 12. Courtesy of Stephen Sproll

Submitted by Elgin Community College
Updated 11/10/2020 10:48 AM

The Elgin Community College Writers Center continues its "Fall Reading Series" with a virtual reading from author and poet Adrian Matejka on Thursday, Nov. 12.

The program will be 7:30 to 9 p.m. via Zoom.


Matejka is the author of "The Devil's Garden," winner of the New York/New England Award, and "Mixology," a winner of the 2008 National Poetry Series.

His third collection, "The Big Smoke," was awarded the 2014 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award and was a finalist for the 2013 National Book Award, 2014 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award, and 2014 Pulitzer Prize in poetry. He was also named the 2018-19 Poet Laureate of Indiana. Matejka's book, "Map to the Stars," was published in 2017, and his first graphic novel "Last On His Feet" is coming in 2021.

A graduate of the MFA program at Southern Illinois University Carbondale, he now teaches at Indiana University in Bloomington.

The ECC Writers Center is an outreach program for students and members of the community who are interested in writing and literature. The Writers Center promotes and coordinates a variety of activities for area writers in all stages of development who wish to share their work in an atmosphere of constructive, respectful criticism.

These programs are free and open to the public.

The fall series began in September with Nate Marshall, an award-winning author, editor, poet, playwright, performer, educator, speaker, and rapper. His book, "Wild Hundreds," was honored with the Black Caucus of the American Library Association's award for Poetry Book of the Year and The Great Lakes Colleges Association's New Writer Award.

It was followed in October with Jeremy T. Wilson, author of the short story collection "Adult Teeth." He is a former winner of the Chicago Tribune's Nelson Algren Award for short fiction, and his stories have appeared in numerous literary magazines.

The Writers Center provides multiple scholarship opportunities for students. For more information contact the Writers Center Director at


Get articles sent to your inbox.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.