Some contested races set but no primary required in Kane County towns

Updated 11/23/2020 7:34 PM

The stage is set for a contested mayoral race in Aurora, where incumbent Richard Irvin will face two challengers in the spring municipal election.

A weeklong filing period ended Monday in the state's second-largest city, as well as in Elgin, North Aurora and Campton Hills.


Some races are uncontested, and none of the others have enough candidates to trigger a Feb. 23 primary. No more than four candidates for a single municipal post are allowed to appear on the general election ballot in April.

Mayoral and city council hopefuls in municipalities that aren't eligible for primaries will not begin turning in their nominating petitions to city clerks until Dec. 14. The local election is April 6.

Here's a look at the candidate field so far:


Nobody new has come forward for the Aurora mayoral post since Irvin, Alderman Judd Lofchie and John Laesch filed their paperwork Nov. 16.

Irvin was first elected in 2017 after serving 10 years on the city council as an alderman at large.

"I ran for mayor four years ago to partner with our community to build Aurora together by ensuring safe neighborhoods, attracting economic development and supporting our schools to guarantee great education. That still holds true today," Irvin said in an email statement. "During my administration, Aurora has become more prosperous in the last four years than in the last four decades. I look forward to the next four years to continue what we've started."

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

Lofchie said he is running for mayor because, "while $1.1 billion in debt, Aurora has increased the budget by $40 million."

"I would stop wasteful spending," Lofchie said in a email statement, "while prioritizing jobs and people."

He said he would use experience of bringing in businesses to Aurora and creating jobs "to help keep a lid on property taxes."

Laesch, a union carpenter, is a former East Aurora District 131 school board member who once ran for Congress.

"As an environmentalist, community activist, veteran, and union carpenter, I am running to be a strong voice for all Aurorans," he said in an email statement. "I want Aurora to be a green city, create better-paying jobs, and reduce crime. The City of Lights can be a beacon of hope for the rest of the nation."

Four people have filed for the alderman-at-large seat: Ron Woerman, Brooke Shanley, Raymond Hull and Joseph Grisson III.

In Ward 4, Alderman William Donnell faces a challenge from John Bell. Alderman Scheketa Hart-Burns and Saul Fultz are seeking the Ward 7 seat, while Arjun Nair and Shweta Baid are running in Ward 10.


Alderman Juany Garza will be unopposed in her bid to be reelected in Ward 2, as will Ward 9 Alderman Edward Bugg.


Eleven candidates have filed their 2021 nominating petitions to run for the four available Elgin City Council seats.

The 4-year seats are currently held by Corey Dixon and Carol Rauschenberger, who are seeking reelection, and Terry Gavin and Baldemar Lopez, who have decided not to run again.

Four candidates arrived early Nov. 16 to be the first filers -- Anthony Ortiz, Steve Thoren, Dustin Good and Richard Johnson. Since then, Karin Jones, Jerri McCue, Jodi Perkins, Marcus Banner and Rafael Garcia Jr. have added their names to the list, along with Dixon and Rauschenberger.

North Aurora

Longtime North Aurora Trustee Mark Gaffino is the sole candidate to file for the village president seat.

The position is being vacated by Dale Berman, who was elected to the Kane County Board this month. Gaffino is a lifelong resident and has served as a trustee since 2005.

Two newcomers are challenging two incumbents for three 4-year seats on the village board.

Trustee Tao Martinez filed paperwork before Monday's deadline, a week after petitions were submitted by incumbent Michael Lowery and residents Carolyn Bird Salazar and Todd Niedzwiedz.

Campton Hills

The Campton Hills village board race will be uncontested, with three candidates vying for three open seats.

Incumbents Michael Millette and James McKelvie turned in nominating petitions on the first day of filing, as did newcomer Ed Muncie. Nobody else had filed by Monday's deadline.

• Daily Herald staff writers Susan Sarkauskas and Rick West contributed to this report.


Get articles sent to your inbox.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.