Endorsement: Derenoski, Duberstein, Typlin for Hainesville village board

The Daily Herald Editorial Board
Posted3/1/2017 1:00 AM

Six candidates are vying for three seats on the Hainesville village board and there are a few familiar faces.

Georgeann Duberstein and John Derenoski are running for re-election having served on the board since 2009. While some residents expressed concern about the couple serving on the board together at first, they were unopposed four years ago.


The incumbents have been active in the community, specifically after the tornado and in organizing the Civil War re-enactment. They are endorsed.

Joining them on the ballot are former Mayor Theodore Mueller and former trustee Walter Kriese. Mueller established Hainesville's first police department, which was later disbanded under Mayor Linda Soto with police coverage contracted out to Grayslake. Mueller and Kriese both bring experience to the board, but an open seat also provides opportunity for a fresh perspective.

Rounding out the field are newcomers Mark Typlin, who previously ran unsuccessfully for trustee, and Christopher Lehman.

Typlin demonstrates a good understanding of the challenges facing economic development in the village and offers detailed ideas to answer that challenge. Those ideas are worthy of consideration, and we endorse Typlin as someone who can bring good ideas and the energy to see them through.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.