Latest McHenry County Board election results

Updated 3/17/2016 7:44 PM

Two days after the polls closed, McHenry County's tabulation of votes remained incomplete Thursday.

Results were delayed partly due to polls closing 90 minutes later Tuesday because electronic poll books -- that allow election officials to review voter data -- weren't working in 12 polling places. Some races were too close to call Wednesday, and provisional ballots were yet to be counted as of Thursday afternoon. It's unclear how many provisional ballots are outstanding.

All results are unofficial until votes are canvassed. Here's how the counts changed in county board races with mail-in, early voting and precinct totals included:

County Board District 1:

Tom Wilbeck and incumbent board member Yvonne Barnes appeared to have secured the Republican nomination for District 1's two open 2-year seats.

Wilbeck garnered 4,429 votes and Barnes secured 4,317 votes.

Board member Anna May Miller came in third with 3,533 votes while challenger Terence Ferenc trailed with 1,416 votes.

Wilbeck, 65, of Barrington Hills, is a retired financial services executive. Barnes, 55, of Cary, chairs the county's finance and audit committee.

County Board District 2:

A Crystal Lake City Council member and a homebuilder are the likely Republican nominees for two 2-year District 2 seats.

Jeffrey Thorsen, 57, a banker, lead with 4,174 votes, followed by John Reinert, 55, a 30-year businessman, with 3,803 votes. Cameron Hubbard, 31, a financial adviser, came in third place with 3,419 votes.

County Board District 3:

Incumbent McHenry County Board members Michael Walkup and Nick Provenzano appeared to snatch the Republican nomination for two 2-year District 3 seats with 4,891 and 4,635 votes, respectively.

Challengers Nancy Gonsiorek of Crystal Lake and Cherie Rickert of McHenry trailed with 3,104 and 2,520 votes, respectively.

The nominees will advance to the Nov. 8 general election, along with Democrat Kenneth Miller of Crystal Lake, vying for two 2-year terms.

County Board District 4:

Craig Wilcox and Kay Bates, both of McHenry, seemed to have a lock on the Republican nomination for two 2-year District 4 seats.

Wilcox led the three-person field with 4,745 votes, followed by Bates with 4,207 votes, and incumbent Sue Draffkorn of Wonder Lake trailing with 3,922 votes.

County Board District 5:

Incumbent Michael Skala of Huntley and newcomer Andrew Snarski of Crystal Lake were poised to secure the Republican nomination for two 2-year District 5 seats.

Skala lead with 3,915 votes, followed by Snarski with 2,996 votes, and Joeseph Calomino of Lake in the Hills came in third with 2,801 votes.

The nominees will face Democrat Alex Wimmer of Woodstock in the Nov. 8 general election.

County Board District 6:

Newcomer James Kearns and longtime incumbent Mary McCann could likely secure the Republican nomination for two District 6 seats.

Kearns, 54, led with 3,872 votes, followed by McCann, 70, with 3,499 votes, nosing ahead of former board member Ersel Schuster, 76, who came in third with 3,476 votes.

Trailing were Kelly Liebmann, 38, with 3,095 votes, and Preston Rea, 64, with 1,843 votes.

Kearns, Grafton Township supervisor, and McCann, will face Democrat Allison Barnard of Marengo in November.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.